Choral Season

In addition to offering high-quality musical offerings each Sunday, the Cathedral Choir presents special choral services throughout the year, often joined by outstanding local and international musicians.

On the first Sunday of most months (January through June) is a particularly moving service of Choral Evensong, a service of song, stillness, and scripture.

Schedule & Repertoire

Sunday, October 2 at 4 p.m. (Organ Prelude at 3:40 p.m.)
Choral Evensong
MUSIC BY JACKSON, SHEPHARD, SMITH, BAIRSTOW, AND MOORE

Our wonderful Dean Dominic Barrington has been appointed the Dean of York, and to commemorate his last Evensong with us, we have selected music celebrating the musical legacy of "the Minster." York has boasted several of the most prominent composers of English church music in the 20th-century, including Edward Bairstow, Francis Jackson, Philip Moore, and Richard Shephard.

The prelude to this service will begin at 3:40pm, played by Michael Rees, organ scholar at Fourth Presbyterian Church.


Saturday, October 8 at 7:30 p.m.
The Treble Choristers of St. Thomas Fifth Avenue
GET TICKETS


Sunday, October 9 at 4 p.m. 
Treble Fest Choral Evensong
Featuring the Treble Choristers of St. Thomas Fifth Avenue
MUSIC BY HURFORD, BYRD, WOOD, AND HANCOCK

Choristers from across the region join the boys of St. Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue in NYC for a special Treble Festival Evensong at St. James! Jeremy Filsell directs the festival choir, accompanied by David Boeckh and the ATB of the Cathedral Choir.


Wednesday, November 2 at 6:30 p.m.
All Souls' Requiem
FAURÉ'S REQUIEM


Sunday, November 6 at 4 p.m. (Organ Prelude at 3:30 p.m.)
Choral Evensong 


Sunday, November 27 at 6:30 p.m.
Advent Lessons & Carols


Sunday, December 4 at 4 p.m.
Choral Evensong & Installation of Provost


Wednesday, December 21 at 7:30 p.m.
Nine Lessons & Carols


Saturday, December 24 at 11 p.m.
Christmas Eve Midnight Mass


Sunday, December 25 at 11 a.m.
Christmas Eucharist

secret